SFLQT CH 12

Slammed with lots of things to do for both work and home. Chinese New Year coming up so got to clean! After that are other events and then my daughter’s birthday! Just so much on my plate.

I haven’t been able to make as much headway as I wanted on translating more chapters. I don’t know how some translators do it, releasing 2-3 chapters a week for multiple novels! Maybe, when I get more used to it?

I keep telling myself once a week but I feel compelled to do it more often than that since this story is just getting started. I really don’t know if I can update that soon, please understand! I have to do a lot of editing in between translating. I also verify some of the things I translate as well. My Type A personality coming through right here.

The author’s note is pretty funny here. As always, it’s below the chapter

Beware of language again!

Thank you all for your support!

Thank you all for your support!

Previous / Table of Contents / Next

If you are not seeing this on hongbaihe.net, this is a stolen translation Please do not repost without permission!! Please support the original translator by viewing it at the source!

If you are not seeing this on hongbaihe.net, this is a stolen translation Please do not repost without permission!! Please support the original translator by viewing it at the source!

If you are not seeing this on hongbaihe.net, this is a stolen translation Please do not repost without permission!! Please support the original translator by viewing it at the source!

Previous / Table of Contents / Next

Author’s Note:

Pa!
Did you hear it, the sound of face slapping about to happen?

TL: She then talks about her archive and updating time, etc and also red pockets.

TL Notes:

The entry level handyman comment makes another comeback into the story. Love how Su Nuo uses that to shut him up!

花簪 I translated it as hair dress piece and google translate has it as calyx (which is basically the flower bloom itself). It’s essentially an olden time hairpin that is crafted to look flowery and meant to adorn one’s hair. For some reason, a lot of maiko/geisha style hair ornaments come up instead if I Google image search the exact Chinese words. However, I would imagine that they look more like this (but ethereal, fairy-like):

Qian Lai 钱来=Money comes, his name is quite humorous, it’s seriously money comes. His surname happens to be money/Qian. I think some Chinese people like to make names into homophones for luck. The fact that his name is literally, Money, come, is like wishing for fortune on your child. A bit tacky in a way. Just my two cents.

Wang Donghu 王東虎 = King East Tiger. The Wang or King in Donghu’s name is a surname, which is a pretty common surname in Chinese, almost to the point as the Korean’s Kim (though the Chen surname should be taking that crown). What is interesting about that is that his name also has “hu” in it for tiger, which is regularly portrayed with the Wang character on its forehead since the character matches the furrows on the animal’s head. It is also generally known as the king of the forest for Chinese culture. Do you see the king in its head?

Meng Yiran 孟亦苒 = First month of also passing time? I get the impression that it’s a name with high aspirations. It seems to be a common name because I remember the female villain was named this for Love O2O. I read the book before knowing they made it into a drama series and movie.

Shen Wang 沉妄 = Deep Fantasy with more of an implication of absurd dreams! Hahah, I suppose this name foretells the author’s intentions. ;p Shen as a surname only means deep or profound, so if paired with a good name, can retain a fortunate meaning…

Also a bit hilarious that Su Nuo’s eyes are compared to a Samoyed!! The original text seriously said that, lol! I have seen them in real life, they are such cute white fluffballs! Super adorable!

You can see from how Su Nuo is described in Shen Wang’s memory, exactly how far she has come. It’s kind of like being confronted with the cringe inducing memories of your adolescence. The author really is developing the back story and characters quite well!

Muhahaha, I can’t wait to read the next chapter! See Shen Wang get slapped!

Previous / Table of Contents / Next

12 thoughts on “SFLQT CH 12

  1. I’ve just started reading this novel. Thank you so much for all the footnotes and superb translation. I am looking forward to the pa! pa! pa! And PA! 😂😂😂
    Happy Rat Year!🥰

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.